In the Pursuit of Impact

Do you want to be a part of something bigger than yourself? Do you want to leave a legacy behind? Do you want to better the world you live in?

Do you want to live a meaningful life?

I was in a bit of a slump a few weeks ago. Be it post-holiday syndrome or the anticipation of a busy period approaching and needing a “just do it” pep talk, I was looking for motivation – possibly even a little validation; that what I had in the works and on the horizon was worth throwing my all into.

My dedication to the HFB obviously knows no bounds. I often joke that it’s my full time job. However, like the rest of the team, I have a day job. The nature of my job is repetitive without much intellectual or creative stimulation. Luckily, I’m allowed an iPod during shifts (a blessing from the heavens, I tell you) so to keep my brain from turning to mush I load it up with Islamic lectures and talks of all kinds to keep my mind active during the day.

The last time I went on the hunt for new content to download and listen to at work, I hadn’t thought I’d been successful when looking for something to rid me of my slump.

But then “Between the Lines” by Nouman Ali Khan happened.

Every question, doubt and hesitation that had been plaguing my mind was suddenly knocked right out of me. Gone were thoughts of ‘I can’t’ and ‘I can’t be bothered’, quickly replaced by ‘I can’, ‘I always was able to’ and ‘I am going to do it right now!’

(That last one was poorly timed as I had only started my shift so world domination obviously had to wait a few hours.)

Khan structures his talk around the pursuits we have in our lives before ultimately announcing that we as Muslims – we as human beings – should all be in pursuit of impact. That we should constantly be pushing ourselves to better; using our talents and skills to serve a purpose higher than ourselves; that we should always be trying as, at the end of the day, the results were never in our hands.

The results were never as important as the work we put in; as the potential we utilised.

Khan pushes you to think about what you’ve been blessed with – what talents and gifts you have been given that you can use to worship God; that you can use to serve humanity.

“…What talent did He give me and what impact will I have on this planet because of it? What am I gonna do with it?”

A similar article I read a little while ago also touched upon this, quoting Zig Ziglar: “The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.”

“Between the Lines” not only motivated me beyond comprehension but it also pushed me to re-evaluate my life – and I know that sounds unbelievably grandiose, like I was a wild person taking notes and being super hyped at work (spoiler alert: that’s exactly what I was like and yes, my co-worker did look at me a little strangely).

But I want to be a part of something massive that will succeed me and continue on benefiting the world and future generations.

I want to be a part of a team so dedicated, that sets the bar so high that future generations aspire to kick us off the top spot (sorry future generations – keep up the good work, though!).

I want to use all of my talents and max out my potential to share the blessings with those around me, to make this world as amazing as I know it can be.

And lastly, I want my life to mean something. I want to be able to go to sleep at night with a sound heart that is happy with where all of my energy is being spent. I want to be able to stand before God one day and say that I tried.

What about you?

You can watch Nouman Ali Khan’s amazing talk here, read Leila Adam’s article here & find us here!

One thought on “In the Pursuit of Impact

Leave a Reply

